A miserable pelagic (09/19/09)

Coming back from a sub-par pelagic out of Westport, WA, I pulled into Fernhill Wetlands and soon discovered that there was a Sabine’s Gull in the middle pond.

Sabine1

Sabine2

Sabine3

Ok, back to the pelagic, which was sub-par to start with. Being on a high dosage of ibuprofen right now to combat an injury, my stomach was upset even before getting on the boat, was even more so while on the boat and still is, so much so that I had to abandon my nightly run tonight, one day after the pelagic. The morale of the story is: Don’t go if you aren’t 100%, or you will be miserable.

On the way to the motel, I stopped by the Tokeland Marina, but failed to find the Bar-tailed Godwit in the crowd of Marbleds. Oddly, Willet was the only tick on any list while being in WA state. It was my year list.

MarbledGodwit

Here a close Marbled Godwit posing for a shot.

Author: birdmeister

Obsessed with birding, I started taking a pictures in '01 after a brief personalized intro by the incomparable David LaPuma. In July '09, I acquired a Canon EOS 50D with a 100-400mm IS lens to be able to shoot the fast-moving lbjs that were so difficult before. In Dec '14, I upgraded my body to a Canon 7D Mark II and immediately noticed a big improvement. Nevertheless, I'm first and foremost a birder, then a photographer. Please note that all pictures on this site were taken by birdmeister (the owner of this site) except for where otherwise mentioned. All pictures on this site are copyrighted.

Leave a Reply

