Australia (11/11-12/10/2012)

Having almost 2 months off work, I decided to bird a place far way that I’d never been to: Australia. I made 5 stops in the following order: Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney, Darwin and Cairns. Read the details in my trip report at:  https://docs.google.com/document/d/1kfbnlm-1VdRMQF4fDH5I8eeMfdvkQRDMwVlsW5FP8dY/edit

AustralianKingParrotWyeRiver
A male Australian King Parrot came in real close to investigate.
RainbowLorikeetLodden
Among the most common, but also the most colorful is the Rainbow Lorikeet.
HoodedParrot
Inland from Darwin, the Hooded Parrot is one of the sought-after species. This obliging bird was found in the hamlet of Pine Creek.
SouthernEmuWren
The Southern Emu-Wren was my absolute favorite though! But then there also was the Platypus …
Platypus2
I took 1000s of pictures overall, now down to about 300. For each leg, I created 3 folders. Keepers and Ugly are all about birds: Pictures in the Keepers folders are relatively sharp. You get the drift with the Ugly. If I got ANY identifiable picture at all, but it’s not pretty to look at, it’s in the Ugly folders. Pictures of mammals, people, reptiles, insects, … are in the Other folders.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

